I love the visual mapping of data. This includes your typical maps, but also charts, tables, and all kinds of other tools and visualization methods. If you like that sort of thing, take a look at You Are Here, by Katherine Harmon, a compendium of what the author calls personal geographies. The illustrations are fantastic and wonderful. Another great source for analytical design is Edward Tufte, Professor Emeritus at Yale University. Yesterday I was pointed to a blog called strangemaps and found some really good stuff. And I’ve had Indexed in my blogroll for a while.

My friend Jim Allen has a really great example for the holidays. And the Periodic Table of Visualization Methods puts  it all together in one place.

mississippiriverbedchanges.jpg

mississippi riverbed changes

